General Business and MarketingAccounting & BankingE-BusinessEconomicsInternational BusinessManagement and EthicsOrganizational Behavior
Art and ArchitectureJournalismLiteratureMythology and FolklorePerforming ArtsPhilosophyReligion
U.S. and International LawCrime and Criminal JusticeCrime and Sociology
Biology, Plants, and AnimalsEnvironmental Science, Ecology, and Earth SciencePhysics, Chemistry, Biochemistry, and General ScienceWeather and AstronomyMath and Statistical Methods
Public Health TopicsBehavior and Mental HealthHealth, Miscellaneous
Social Science Theory and Research MethodsSociologyPsychologySocial and Cultural AnthropologyOther Social Science Topics
HistoryWorld HistoryU.S. HistoryEuropean HistoryMilitary HistoryAfrican American History
English LanguageWorld LanguagesStyle and RhetoricLinguistics, Grammar, Etymology, and Semiotics
This is the "Home" page of the "Guide to Dictionary and Encyclopedia Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask a Librarian
University of Maryland University College

Guide to Dictionary and Encyclopedia Resources  

Dictionary and Encyclopedia related databases, Web sites, books, e-books, and other resources
Last Updated: Jan 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.umuc.edu/dictionary_and_encyclopedias Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Citation Assistance

  • APA Style
    Includes examples of how to cite various types of sources and two multi-media tutorials on how to cite using APA.
  • MLA Style
    Includes examples of how to cite various types of sources and a multi-media tutorial on how to cite using MLA.
  • Chicago Style
    Includes examples of how to cite various types of sources and a link to the Chicago Manual of Style Online Quick Guide page.
 

General Reference Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Welcome to UMUC's collection of online dictionaries and encyclopedias. Please feel free to browse these books by subject by clicking any of the red tabs above. You can also look for dictionaries and encyclopedias on a topic by visiting the "Background Reading" tab in any of the subject guides.

E-Books Collections

  • E-book Collections
    Access to more than 41,000 full text titles that cover a wide variety of subject areas. Collections include eBooks on EBSCOhost, Books24x7, Safari Books Online, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Oxford Art Online, Oxford Reference Online Premium, Oxford Scholarship Online (history and psychology only), Political Handbook of the World, PsycBOOKS, and SAGE Reference Online Collections, as well as links to those collections freely available via the Internet.

Ask a Librarian

Profile Image
Have a quick reference question?
IM us using the form below.

Instant Message a Librarian


Your browser appears to have JavaScript turned off.

Please enable JavaScript to use Instant Messaging.

Contact Info
IM hours (ET):
Monday- Thursday: 9am-9pm
Friday: 9am-5pm
Saturday & Sunday: 1pm-5pm
Send Email
 

Javascript must be enabled for all portions of this Web site to function correctly. To check your browser settings see our Check Your Browser page.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip